Singing in the rain…I’m singing in the rain!

Well, yes, you guessed it.  I really am singing in the rain.  It’s downpouring in Cumberland County today.  We needed the rain so bad.  But now it’s possible for flash flooding!

I love a good rain!  Just watching it come down and then if you get a good thunder/lightning show, it’s just cherry on top.  You see, I’m what they call part melancholy and part choleric.  The choleric is the leader side.  Make decisions.  Get it done.  The melancholy side says,  let me think deeply about life while singing in the rain.

I’m a HUGE Walt Disney World fan.  And without fail, every time my family goes, we always go thru The Great Movie Ride.  This ride takes you slowly thru the progression of how movies became.  One of them is a scene where Gene Kelly is literally singing in the rain.  Although I’ve never seen the movie.  Especially since it’s debut was in 1952 long before I was born.

I found out recently that The Great Movie Ride is being closed for good.  Bummer.  But it really did need to close because it was outdated.  Rumor has it they will make it a Mickey and Minnie mouse ride that will take you thru an adventure with them.

Recently, I have heard of several people dying.  Dying at ages near mine.  I just turned 47 on August 4th so of course, it always hits home.  As I was thinking about this ride, it reminds me of life.  We start off in black and white and end up in 3d.  Over time, you pray things get better and better with your life.  Unfortunately, not everyone has that story.

If at the end of our lives God would put our lives up on a movie screen and take us thru it frame by frame, I think we would all have our share of surprises, disappointments, hurts, pains, and joys.  Just like the movies, there is a story line.  The main theme.  A beginning and then…roll credits.  Who made the film possible because of their contributions.

And then I thought,  I wonder how many people have my name on their list of life’s credits?  Did I contribute positively or negatively to their “life movie”?   Did The Director and Creator (God) like my contribution?

In life’s storms, it’s not so easy to be singing in the rain.  It’s fun if the water is not too cold and light.  But if it’s coming down in buckets and it’s freezing rain, it’s a whole different story.

That’s why we need Jesus.

Mark 4:35-41  

Jesus Calms the Storm

35 That day when evening came, he said to his disciples, “Let us go over to the other side.” 36 Leaving the crowd behind, they took him along, just as he was, in the boat. There were also other boats with him. 37 A furious squall came up, and the waves broke over the boat so that it was nearly swamped. 38 Jesus was in the stern, sleeping on a cushion. The disciples woke him and said to him, “Teacher, don’t you care if we drown?”

39 He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet! Be still!”Then the wind died down and it was completely calm.

40 He said to his disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?”

41 They were terrified and asked each other, “Who is this? Even the wind and the waves obey him!”

Let Jesus come into your life boat and steer you through the storms of life.  One day, He’s gonna ask us….”What have you learned about me and what did you learn about you?”

Then, you can sing through the rain and shout at the top of your lungs!

He’s there for us all!

Pastor Steve

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Amy says:

    Rest assured…You’re on the list of my life’s credits–for times past and those yet to come. Thank you for all you are and all you do.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment